08:55 AMET

Lady Gaga: When I’m not onstage, I feel dead

Not to be outdone by the Winfrey-palooza, Lady Gaga is still dropping memorable bon mots left, right and in this week’s Rolling Stone.

The superstar says she’s been really into “Rocky IV” lately, culling inspiration from the speech Apollo’s ex-trainer gives to the infamous boxer.

“My favorite part is when Apollo’s ex-trainer says to Rocky, ‘He is not a machine. He’s a man. Cut him, and once he feels his own blood, he will fear you.’ I know it sounds crazy, but I was thinking about the machine of the music industry,” Gaga told Rolling Stone. “I started to think about how I have to make the music industry bleed to remind it that it’s human, it’s not a machine.”

But, she says, please don’t confuse her actions as attempts to gain attention.

“I have attention,” she says in the interview. “Is it that you believe that I am attention-seeking or shock for shock’s sake, or is it just that it’s been a long time since someone has embraced the art form the way that I have? Perhaps it’s been a couple of decades since there’s been an artist that’s been as vocal about culture, religion, human rights, politics.”

Gaga continues, speaking directly to her critics, “I’m so passionate about what I do, every bass line, every EQ. Why is it that you don’t want more from the artist, why is it that you expect so little, so when I give and give, you assume it’s narcissistic?”

Keep all that in mind the next time you hear her say something like, “When I am not onstage, I feel dead,” as she does to Rolling Stone.

“Whether that is healthy or not to you, or healthy or not to anyone, or a doctor, is really of no concern to me. I don’t feel alive unless I’m performing, and that’s just the way I was born.”

Check out the full interview when the latest issue of Rolling Stone arrives on newsstands Friday.

comment comment blah blah

Leave a comment